8 Daily Habits of the Highly Successful

At first they will ask why you’re doing it, later they will ask how you did it.

The path to success is a coveted one, and many who try will fall short of their dream. In the end, it’s all a matter of how hard you are willing to try to achieve your goals.

By now, I’m sure you all know that success isn’t something that is handed down to you, it’s worked for. Whether you climbing the ladder or starting at the bottom, these daily habits will help you along the way.

One: Wake Up Early

It’s almost turned into a bragging right among CEO’s on who wakes up the earliest. The most common time- 5 am.

Yahoo CEO Marissa Mayer claims to get between 4-6 hours of sleep each night. Apple CEO Tim Cook is already at the gym by 5 am.

An ancient proverb goes “Early to bed, early to rise, makes a man healthy, wealthy, and wise.” Whether CEO’s heard this first from Benjamin Franklin or the Bible, it seems they all take it to heart and start they day early.

Start your day right, getting up early to get work done while most are sleeping. This is the time when most social media is asleep, there are no incoming emails and no secretaries rushing in to interrupt you. All distractions are pushed aside, leaving behind room for creativity and productivity to flourish.

Two: Plan out your Day

“I don’t do doubt and I don’t do bad days.” -Mark Bloomberg

Have your plan of attack ready to go for the day before your day starts. This can be the night before or early in the morning, but either way it’s best to take on the day with a clear plan of what you want to accomplish.

“In the morning or the night before, I write down a to-do list, a sort of priority of what I intend to accomplish that day. As the day progresses I scratch off items completed and open room for others. I find this helps me keep focused on the most important goals and not lose sight of what I primarily intended to accomplish that day.” –Payman Taei, CEO of Visme

Three: Make the Most of Drive Time

“I find this time very useful for scheduling calls that are uninterrupted. It also allows me to accomplish a lot more for the day when I get into the office, knowing these important conversations have already taken place and I can focus on other matters.”-David Goldin, CEO and founder of Capify

The commute to work can be spent doing multiple things that will help focus you for the day, including work calls, planning out the day, listening to podcasts, or meditating.

Four: Prioritize your Health

“I’m driven when it comes to sports and fitness. I have a regular 5 a.m. workout consisting of Insanity, Asylum and a five-mile run regardless of where I am in the world and the time zone. Since so much of my job is unpredictable, the workout helps keep my mind and body fresh and at least I have a predictable start to my day.”-Jon Doos, CEO of ShoreTel.

Square and Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey wakes up before dawn for a 6 mile run. AOL CEO Tim Armstrong wakes up at 5:15 and exercises.

“I’ve exercised–whether it be lifting or running–religiously for the past 12 years of my life, and it has played a critical role in my daily attitude, work potential, and outlook on life.”-Hannibal Baldwin, co-founder and CEO at SiteZeus,

Five: Take Breaks

It’s easy to see successful people as constantly on the go, but that’s not realistic. They take breaks, give their minds time to cool down.

“There are footballs, golf balls, softballs, chessboards, Legos–everything a curious kid could dream of–covering our office space. Whenever I’m stuck on an idea, I play a quick game of catch or build a Lego house to give my brain a breather. Then it’s back to the drawing board. I encourage my team to do the same thing, too. Just like any muscle, your brain needs a recovery session after a tough workout.”-Dan Hogan founder and CEO of Medalogix

Six: Make Time for Loved Ones

A number of successful business men and women find time during their day to spend with family, including Padmasree Warrior, Kevin Conway, and Tim Armstrong.

It’s important to continuously surround yourself with people who will life your spirits and put you in a good mood, especially after a long day of work.

Seven: Keep a Journal

“Being able to have a place where I can analyze where I am, see my daily progress and capture quotes/sayings that really move me has been incredibly beneficial.” –Matt Mayberry

The journal is a way to track your goals, monitor your growth, and record key lessons learned over the years. Even if it’s no more than a few scribbled down notes for the week, many successful entrepreneurs have claimed to keep a written journal.

Eight: Read Often

“If you aren’t moving forward, then you’re moving backwards.” -Chuck Kepner. One common trait that all successful individuals have is they are constantly learning and pushing themselves, typically through literature and podcasts.

“I’m a huge believer in lifelong learning, and I find these podcasts to be incredibly helpful in sparking new ideas, inspiring me to improve, and learning from the mistakes of others.” -Matt Mickiewicz, co-founder of online IT recruiter for Hired.

“It emboldens your imagination, gives your mind respite, and arms you with tactics on creating motivating, inspiring messaging. Don’t be afraid to take time out to free your mind from the strictures of reality.”-Alicia Navarro, CEO of Skimlinks.

“Entrepreneurship is living your life for a few years like most people won’t so that you can live the rest of your life the way most people can’t.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

